Reviews

(April 2014 Review)

Perfect casual location on the marina, surrounded by boats and great patio/garden outdoor areas looking over the inlet and Vilano Bridge. Service fun and friendly, seating comfortable, and the grilled snapper over leeks with veggies was very good. Salad very fresh with ingredients grown right outside in the Grill’s own veggie/herb beds. Oh, and go for the Key Lime pie….

John M.

 

(April 2014 Review)

The Kingfish Grill overlooks the Camachee Marina. The menu is not extensive, but everything on it is delicious; salads, seafood dishes, burgers. You can dine inside or out, at a table overlooking the marina or at the bar with a big screen TV. Service is always friendly and professional. Highly recommended for your nextt visit to St. Augustine.

Deb A. Savannah, Tennessee

 

(April 2014 Review)

Great sushi! I had the calamari Roll and it was awesome. The service was great! Beautiful view and amazing view when you sit outside on the deck. Love this place!

Danielle F. – Vilano Beach

 

(January 2013)

Just wanted to make a comment: Visited St. Augustine, 1/18/13 Loved the location, right on the river. Was recommended by our daughter, her family has eaten here 3-4 times during the summer, had a family reunion at Vilano Beach. The fish was fantastic, love the lightly breading, not over powering of the fish. Staff were so informative of the wine, beer and choices of the foods! Will come back for sure! Thanks for a great meal !

Ric Lehman – Haven Horse Ranch (June. 2012)

Leisa,

Thank you again so very much for all you have done to serve the children of NE Florida. Without you we can provide the environment that they continue to grow and succeed in and you are truly helping to create miracles.

Also, I have to tell you, last night’s dinner was awesome as usual. Somehow your staff continues to outdo itself. The Filet and the Blackened Snapper were both huge hits as were the ever popular shrimp. Of course the service was impeccable, again, lol. My hats off to the management for not only creating/recruiting such a fine staff but for the training and motivation to keep them doing such a great job with noticeable enthusiasm. Of course, so many kudo’s to the staff as well for what they do and more importantly how they do it.

We look forward to working with The Kingfish Grill whenever we can because we know that by working together, anything’s possible!

Ric Lehman – Haven Horse Ranch (April. 2012)
In regards to the “Haven Horse Ranch Family Dinner Night” at Kingfishgrill

Antonio,

I just had to pass on that everyone raved about last night. For most it ws their first time there and they simply loved the atmosphere, the staff and the food. They all said Kingfish just had a “fun” feeling and that they would definitely be back. At least 3 said it was now their favorite place to dine out.

One of our Board Members said it was obvious that it all started with the leadership and flowed through the staff. Great Job Sir.

Jane Rizzi – Jupiter, Florida (Sept. 2011)

Great atmosphere and wonderful food and service.

Tracy DeVack – St. Augustine, Florida (July 2011)

My favorite place to eat in St. Augustine. Excellent food, service and view!

Carole Simmons-Decort – Jacksonville, Florida (July 2011)

My husband and I just found the Kingfish Grill one day when we were driving around. We love the seclusion of the restaurant, the atmosphere and the exceptional food that you get there. It is my absolute favorite place to eat at.

Keystone Heights (Feb. 2011)

Excellent meal…we just bought another certificate to Kingfish Grill. David Keith Walker

Jennifer Murdoch ~ (Feb. 2011)

Our dinner was wonderful and very fresh. I love dining there when we are in town visiting.

Dennis Lucas ~ West Sand Lake (Feb. 2011)

The fish was fresh and delicious…all of the staff was friendly and courteous…manager came by our table to ensure our meal and service was satisfactory.

Caroline Fusco Ponte Vedra Beach (Feb. 2011)

Very lively and we enjoyed ourselves.

Brandon Bessette March 2010

I attended a wedding reception on March 7th at Kingfish and it was great. I just wanted to recognize the staff working the wedding for the hard work and how they became part of the wedding. I would definitely recommend Kingfish to anyone for a dinner destination or for a wedding reception because the of the staff that was working the Sedgley Wedding.

Love and Shalom, Brandon Bessette

The Ponte Vedra Recorder’s Top 5 Best Kept Secrets of the Beaches
Friday July 24th – from St. Augustine, Florida.

Kingfish Grill Ranked #3 on the List!

Hungry! Looking for something delicious, reasonably priced and unique? Get away from chain-dining and treat yourself to a delicious meal at the Kingfish Grill. This St. Augustine restaurant is home to some of the best seafood in the beaches.

The Drift Magazine
December 2008 – from St. Augustine, Florida.

Overlooking the docks and big beautiful yachts of Camachee Cove Marina, the Kingfish Grill offers spectacular waterfront views, great fare and innovative drinks. Celebrated as having “the best fresh fish on the water” the Kingfish caters to a lot of boaters and locals from Vilano and downtown, according to bartender Phoebe Cranford, who is accustomed to being around big boats back home as a Rhode Island native. One of the best sellers at the bar is the Kingtini – which Cranford claims is like a key lime pie in a glass. Mmmmm. During the summer months, live music greets boaters as they enter the protected harbor to dock for drinks and eats or for an overnight stay. The afternoon ocean breezes kick in religiously and are great on the deck with a cocktail, Cranford said. Looks like a great place to get lost for a few hours with friends new and old.

 

Kingfish Grill on Yelp.com – Blog
December 2007 – from Palm Coast, Florida.

Kingfish Grill is located in the Camachee Cove Marina right on the water. The seafood is fresh and the dress is casual. It’s only a few minutes from downtown St Augustine and it’s great for the whole family. Spacious and bright with a lot of air flow. I loved the catch of the day sandwich. To my surprise and delight they asked me how I would like it : Seared, Grilled, or fried. ( very surprised that they offer seared) when I got my sandwich it was lightly grilled accompanied with a basket of fries and a terrific sauce, which I was told was made from peppers that only grow in this region. Our waitress was very informative as well as polite and thoughtful. Service was prompt and the prices were great. I would recommend this place to any one of my peers.

About.com
OLDEST CITY GETS ITS NEWEST CHEF
JANUARY 2008.

St. Augustine’s Kingfish Grill recently announced the winner of its Minnow Menu Contest, a kids’ recipe competition where young chefs were asked to create a healthy choice item that other kids would really enjoy. Nine-year-old Kaylee Wilken of Goshen, Indiana took home the grand prize, which included a trip to St. Augustine and seeing her recipe featured on Kingfish Grill’s menu throughout the year. Apparently, Kaylee’s Cinnamon-Red Applesauce is so simple, even a grown-up can make it: 7 cups (64 ounces) unsweetened applesauce (use either unsweetened homemade applesauce or store-bought applesauce 1 14-oz. package Red Hots Cinnamon Imperials 2 tbsp. ground cinnamon 1 dash nutmeg Place all ingredients in a large saucepan. Heat over medium heat, stirring often. When applesauce begins to bubble, reduce the heat and continue to stir until all of the Red Hots are dissolved. Serve warm.

AndersonsWorld.com
March 2008 By Eric Anderson

…With all this activity, where we gonna eat? From several visits we have our favorite restaurants. The Kingfish Grill on the northern part of town just before the Vilano Causeway is in the old St. Augustine Yacht Cub building. This restaurant surely meets city sophisticate Leigh Cort’s Big Four criteria for any restaurant: Attitude of staff and ambience of the place, knowledgeable attendants and fabulous food. Even something as simple as its sweet potato fries are sensational.

Anniston Star – March 2008

…Punctuate your evenings with casual or chic restaurants in ST. Augustine. Last June, the Palm Beach Post listed the Kingfish Grill among the “22 Classic Restaurants on the East Coast — Making Classic Florida Memories.” The Kingfish, at Camachee Cove Marina, is laid-back, friendly and you can’t beat the scenery. Its signature crab cake, with piquant Datil pepper jelly, is light and delicious, and the Homemade Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee’s creamy depth of flavor lingers pleasingly.

Hope Philbrick
SundayPaper.com (Atlanta, GA) November 2007

“For lunch, we drove a short distance outside of St. Augustine’s historic district to the Kingfish Grill at Camachee Cove Marina, since it promised a scenic view and award-winning seafood fare. The space boasts bright décor and a breathtaking view of the boats.

Friendly staff members hustled to serve diners, a mix of both tourists andlocals. The Kingfish Grill Chowder, an award-winning New England–style clam chowder, proved to be a tastystarter. Both the spicy crab sushi roll and grilled grouper sandwich, which Dean and I shared, were scrumptious and satisfying.”

Amercian Roads Travel Magazine

KINGFISH GRILL – ROMANCE ON THE WATERFRONT
by Leigh Cort

“I love the Cheers-style neighborhood friendliness that keeps our guests happy. The restaurant maintains a high spirited ambience paired with our guests’ energy and vibrancy too. And it always feels like there’s something special happening”. My suggestion to today’s restaurant addicts: Move over and make a place at your table for the King! Read the entire article

Florida Travel and Life – September 2007

Fresh Local Catch
by Lynn Nesmith

This is the kind of place that fosters a sense of adventure – like starting off with a Key Lime Kingtini – as well as encourages savoring the simple pleasures of a frosty beer and a sunset over the water.

July 2007 COMPASS – St. Augustine Record

“Summer Dining” – Great views, atmosphere and food
at area outdoor spots

Some of the freshest seafood around can be found at KingfishGrill.  Located at Camachee Cove just before the Vilano Bridge. The gazebo-like outdoor seating area provides shade during the summer months and a waterside view

“Kingfish Grill’s Fin Fare Recognized in New Classic Restaurants”

St. Augustine, Fl (JULY 1, 2007)

The Kingfish Grill is on the move, not from its premier location at the Camachee Cove Marina on the Intracoastal Waterway, but now being recognized by food editors ‘in the know’ about where to go and what to eat.

The Palm Beach Post has included this lively and popular seafood eatery in its summer (June, 2007) Florida publication “22 Classic Restaurants on the East Coast – Making Classic Florida Memories” positioning the Kingfish Grill in the ‘new classic’ category ranked #1. Celebrating its 2nd birthday this month, getting the nod is a great birthday present for owner Paul Mackey and General Manager/Partner Beth Mincher, considering the cities included most hot classics coming from Miami, Bal Harbour, Ft. Lauderdale.

Food Editors Amy Royster and Jan Norris write:

“Watch this restaurant on the marina, from New England coast-native owner Paul Mackey. Seafood dishes are great here; sushi too!  A favorite stop in St. Augustine! The setting on the water at the marina is great,especially at sundown.  The sushi’s good and fresh and all the other fin fare is notable. They have a leg up on other seafood restaurants; New Englander Paul Mackey is from the northern coast where good seafood is always the special of the day!

They use fresh ingredients to put out contemporary takes on the fish dishes, letting the ocean flavor come through in meals such as the fisherman’s stew, a saffron-scented broth with thick pieces of the day’s catch; horseradish-crusted roast grouper or Camachee crab cakes served with the local Datil pepper jelly on the side.  Desserts are housemade, the Key lime pie we sampled was tasty indeed. There’s a bar if you’d rather just toast the sunset.  Live music is offered most nights.”

ASAHI Weekly  – June, 2007
By Joseph Lieberman

…”The next day’s lunch at Kingfish Grill and their baked artichoke dip with tortilla chips was a great tongue teaser, the Far East salad with crunchy noodles was a meal in itself and the blackened mahi on Mediterranean salad was perfection incarnate.  Just to make sure, however, I took away an order of spicy tuna roll sushi to enjoy later”

St. Augustine (May 4) …And the winner goes to (in the Best Ethnic Taste Category – Kingfish Grill – for their Spicy Seafood Sushi! What a pleasant surprise to owner Paul Mackey and General Manager Beth Mincher. Sponsored by Folio Newspaper, the prestigious award, a colorful platter that would look great on any restaurant’s wall, is the newest addition to Kingfish Grill’s décor.

“The Taste of St. Augustine” is well-known for its great restaurants and fabulous food, one of Northeast Florida’s most anticipated eating events of the season. This year, the grand finale of EPIC’s Spring fundraiser was held in an exciting new location – the newly renovated Amphitheatre of St. Augustine. With 5,000 people spending nearly 8 hours sampling signature dishes from 30+ restaurants, the judges finally announced the winner of each category.

“As we approach our 2nd anniversary in June, anyone who has dined with us knows Kingfish Grill is a casual and fun waterfront seafood restaurant serving traditional and innovative fish with our own twist. Sushi lovers know that our sushi menu features the freshest tuna, soft shell crab, shrimp and seasonal seafood rolls. We’re so excited and honored that the judges recognized our newest sushi special – Spicy Seafood Sushi made with shrimp, scallop and crab, topped with Tobiko caviar” states Beth Mincher.

Kingfish Grill …Simple ingredients from the Sea …Artfully prepared ..Served in a contemporary waterfront setting

 

WATER’S EDGE MAGAZINE..September 2006:
One of the Top Three ‘Best Seafood Restaurant’ in the Jacksonville region.

“Everyone agrees dining well was part of the marvelous adventure in St. Augustine. Our favorite restaurant for dinner was the KINGFISH GRILL
(at Camachee Cove Marina). There were exceptional waterside views
and we could hear the live music on the deck. Every table was filled
with laughing patrons enjoying the music and the tasty fare.”

LOVIN’ LIFE MAGAZINE (May 2007) by Roslyn Farhi

Kingfish Grill is the Winner!

Kingfish Grill takes 1st place in New England Seafood Chowder
at the 2006 Great Chowder Debate.

 

“ENJOY A SECOND HONEYMOON IN ST. AUGUSTINE”
“The second night we had dinner at The Kingfish Grill located at the Camachee Cove Marina. For casual waterside dining, take an easy
10-minute drive from the Inn. It is definitely worth it.

You will dine overlooking beautiful yachts. The Horseradish Encrusted Grouper, one of their signature dinners, was superb. My companion loved the Filet Mignon. She said it was the best she had ever had! Casual dining with a wide variety of great food from burgers to steaks to seafood and more, plus your favorite drinks and cocktails all at moderate prices”

BROWARD NEWSPAPERS (April 2007) by Harvey Lustig

The Palencia Unknown Diners
The Authors are three Palencia couples who enjoy discovering and
sharing new and exciting cuisine but wish to remain anonymous. If
I were a fish, whose destiny involved a dinner plate in a restaurant,
one of my top choices would be the KINGFISH GRILL located at
the Camachee Cove Marina in St. Augustine………..

It’s a very friendly spot where you can relax, have great conversation
and great food. You aren’t rushed and the wait staff is responsive to
your wants. We would go back there in a heartbeat………..

Read the Entire Palencia Press Review

 

North Shores News by Murrell Weissinger
September 2005

“Finally we have a new restaurant at Camachee Island which we revisited the other night, after a very good lunch when they first opened.  All is still well! We hope the Kingfish Grill is here to stay. Everything was good, but I would especially single out the reception, the excellent and attentive service and the attention they give to their customers’ every need. Glad to have you aboard at CAMACHEE ISLAND.

A New Hidden Gem at Camachee Cove – NORTH SHORES NEWS

Paul Mackey, owner of the Kingfish Grill, fell in love with St. Augustine after visiting a friend and fellow sailor, Sean McKenna, who recently relocated from Paul’s native New Hampshire to oversee Camachee Cove Marina.  Paul was surprised at how much St. Augustine reminded him of the quaint area of New Hampshire where he has called home for 30 years.  The friendliness of the people, the beauty of the scenery, and sense of community in St. Augustine made him feel at home.

During the cold winter months in New England, Paul shared his excitement about St. Augustine with the crew at his restaurant of 20 years, The Carriage House, located in the small fishing village of Rye, N.H., just outside of Portsmouth.

After a few more trips to Florida, an idea was born.  Paul enlisted his first partner, Jimmy McIntire, a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America who had worked with Paul both at the Carriage House and with his own catering company. When the perfect location became available at Camachee Cove, they called Beth Mincher, Front of the House Manager, who was a Carriage House alum who had most recently been spending time working for a surf company in Southern California, to help make their dream restaurant a reality.

Once in town, the new team found Chef Shawn Stalcup, who had been working locally in St. Augustine for seven years, and the group was underway.  Behind the bright orange and blue walls of the Kingfish Grill is a simple idea: Use the best ingredients – the freshest fish, hand selected every day of the week; organic and locally grown produce, whenever available and adjust menu items to meet individual customer’s dietary needs.  Keep prices low.  Provide the kind of exceptional service that will make the casual passer-by into a regular. And honor the local community that Paul fell in love with.  St. Augustine and its locals have so much to be proud of.

The incredible views, some say the best in town, are an added bonus.  So is the live entertainment (Thursday – Saturday), free dockage for guests, the sushi bar, and the outdoor deck with seating for 80.  It’s no wonder that the newest restaurant in America’s Oldest City has become an overnight success with the locals!