Reviews

(December 2019 Review)

Delicious food and Awesome location!………5 STARS

We loved this restaurant. Had the Bubba Gump sushi roll as a starter and it was good. I had the shrimp and grits and it was delicious. My husband had the shrimp & scallop ala vodka and he enjoyed it. Beautiful restaurant in an awesome location. Would definitely eat here again.

 

(November 2019 Review)

Rae of Sunshine……5 STARS

 

(Sept 2019 Review)

So fresh, so tasty!!

My husband and I are staying at the marina where the restaurant is located. We have found with restaurants on site of marinas are usually “good” but not stellar. We took a chance and walked over, we were sat immediately on a busy Friday night outside. We ordered the daily special appetizer which was the Datil Pepper Fish Dip I can’t even begin to tell you how wonderful this was! (and priced reasonable to boot), I ordered the blackened grouper and my husband had the grilled snapper with lemon butter caper sauce. So fresh, so tasty!! We will definitely go back again before we leave the marina! Service was wonderful as well!!

Melissa Jones

 

(Sept 2019 Review)

Good food and views!

Always enjoy eating outside and watching the people and boats going by! Good food and always a great time!

(Sept 2019 Review)

Always Excellent

We ate here again last night & it was delicious again! Chicken Piccata is my favorite but burgers & seafood are awesome too!! Nice staff, clean & beautiful view on the water. Eat inside or out ! Someimes there is live music on deck! Lots of people at the bar & they drive you in with a golf cart!! Just fun & well priced. Dylan was great last night – attentive & knew the menu!!

 

(June 2019 Review)

Was super impressed with the Fast Service. Ordered and within 10 mins appetizers and Sushi was out to our table and food was fresh. We all had seafood and everyone tried something different off the menu. Fish was seasoned and cooked perfectly. Rice was a little dry but flavor was good. Wait staff was attentive and on point. We will definitely return when in town again. Tip- Call Ahead for seating inside as this place gets busy quick. Atmosphere was loud but typical for the area.not much parking up front but they do have a guy on a golf cart to pick you up. It’s best to pull on up front first let him follow you to back of the parking lot to pick up.

Brian Lewis

 

(June 2019 Review)

The fresh catch of today is grouper and WOW was it DELICIOUS! CAME WITH 2 SIDES for $25. It has a million dollar view of the intercoastal waterway and large yachts park outside of the restaurant. My girlfriend took me for a birthday lunch. What a great place!!!

Jillian Bos

 

(May 2019 Review)

Excellent food and great service! Very enjoyable atmosphere. Neighborhood gem. The Florida cracker plate with shrimp and St Louis style ribs was outstanding. Highly recommend.

Chris Dover

 

(May 2019 Review)

Wait was long, but it was over the weekend so that was expected. The outdoor waiting part was pretty spacious so you could be entertained and hang out while waiting. The food was so FRESH and fantastic! The staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs, he stayed on top of refills and checking in on us (group of 12). A must if in the area!

Leah Bryant

 

(May 2019 Review)

We enjoyed our lunch on Saturday. Anthony was our server and was very prompt and helpful! We had our dog and sat outside on the picnic tables and enjoyed the beautiful view. The mahi sandwich was delicious and filling. We will definitely be back!

Mary Boatright

 

(March 2019 Review)

Stopped by for lunch on my way back to Atlanta. Chose this restaurant based upon the reviews on this forum. It was a great choice!!! I had a seafood platter. The shrimp, scallops, oysters, fish, fries and slaw were delicious. Oysters on the half shell were perfect as well. My daughter got the snow crab clusters. She said they were great too. The California rolls were a little different than expected but still tasty. We sat on the patio with a gas heater (it was low 60’s with a breeze) and really enjoyed the view and atmosphere. I really enjoyed the meal and highly recommend Kingfish Grill.

Russel Pope Sr

 

(April 2014 Review)

Perfect casual location on the marina, surrounded by boats and great patio/garden outdoor areas looking over the inlet and Vilano Bridge. Service fun and friendly, seating comfortable, and the grilled snapper over leeks with veggies was very good. Salad very fresh with ingredients grown right outside in the Grill’s own veggie/herb beds. Oh, and go for the Key Lime pie….

John M.

 

(April 2014 Review)

The Kingfish Grill overlooks the Camachee Marina. The menu is not extensive, but everything on it is delicious; salads, seafood dishes, burgers. You can dine inside or out, at a table overlooking the marina or at the bar with a big screen TV. Service is always friendly and professional. Highly recommended for your nextt visit to St. Augustine.

Deb A. Savannah, Tennessee

 

(April 2014 Review)

Great sushi! I had the calamari Roll and it was awesome. The service was great! Beautiful view and amazing view when you sit outside on the deck. Love this place!

Danielle F. – Vilano Beach

 

(January 2013)

Just wanted to make a comment: Visited St. Augustine, 1/18/13 Loved the location, right on the river. Was recommended by our daughter, her family has eaten here 3-4 times during the summer, had a family reunion at Vilano Beach. The fish was fantastic, love the lightly breading, not over powering of the fish. Staff were so informative of the wine, beer and choices of the foods! Will come back for sure! Thanks for a great meal !

Ric Lehman – Haven Horse Ranch (June. 2012)

Leisa,

Thank you again so very much for all you have done to serve the children of NE Florida. Without you we can provide the environment that they continue to grow and succeed in and you are truly helping to create miracles.

Also, I have to tell you, last night’s dinner was awesome as usual. Somehow your staff continues to outdo itself. The Filet and the Blackened Snapper were both huge hits as were the ever popular shrimp. Of course the service was impeccable, again, lol. My hats off to the management for not only creating/recruiting such a fine staff but for the training and motivation to keep them doing such a great job with noticeable enthusiasm. Of course, so many kudo’s to the staff as well for what they do and more importantly how they do it.

We look forward to working with The Kingfish Grill whenever we can because we know that by working together, anything’s possible!

Ric Lehman – Haven Horse Ranch (April. 2012)
In regards to the “Haven Horse Ranch Family Dinner Night” at Kingfishgrill

Antonio,

I just had to pass on that everyone raved about last night. For most it ws their first time there and they simply loved the atmosphere, the staff and the food. They all said Kingfish just had a “fun” feeling and that they would definitely be back. At least 3 said it was now their favorite place to dine out.

One of our Board Members said it was obvious that it all started with the leadership and flowed through the staff. Great Job Sir.

Jane Rizzi – Jupiter, Florida (Sept. 2011)

Great atmosphere and wonderful food and service.

Tracy DeVack – St. Augustine, Florida (July 2011)

My favorite place to eat in St. Augustine. Excellent food, service and view!

Carole Simmons-Decort – Jacksonville, Florida (July 2011)

My husband and I just found the Kingfish Grill one day when we were driving around. We love the seclusion of the restaurant, the atmosphere and the exceptional food that you get there. It is my absolute favorite place to eat at.

Keystone Heights (Feb. 2011)

Excellent meal…we just bought another certificate to Kingfish Grill. David Keith Walker

Jennifer Murdoch ~ (Feb. 2011)

Our dinner was wonderful and very fresh. I love dining there when we are in town visiting.

Dennis Lucas ~ West Sand Lake (Feb. 2011)

The fish was fresh and delicious…all of the staff was friendly and courteous…manager came by our table to ensure our meal and service was satisfactory.

Caroline Fusco Ponte Vedra Beach (Feb. 2011)

Very lively and we enjoyed ourselves.

Brandon Bessette March 2010

I attended a wedding reception on March 7th at Kingfish and it was great. I just wanted to recognize the staff working the wedding for the hard work and how they became part of the wedding. I would definitely recommend Kingfish to anyone for a dinner destination or for a wedding reception because the of the staff that was working the Sedgley Wedding.

Love and Shalom, Brandon Bessette

The Ponte Vedra Recorder’s Top 5 Best Kept Secrets of the Beaches
Friday July 24th – from St. Augustine, Florida.

Kingfish Grill Ranked #3 on the List!

Hungry! Looking for something delicious, reasonably priced and unique? Get away from chain-dining and treat yourself to a delicious meal at the Kingfish Grill. This St. Augustine restaurant is home to some of the best seafood in the beaches.

The Drift Magazine
December 2008 – from St. Augustine, Florida.

Overlooking the docks and big beautiful yachts of Camachee Cove Marina, the Kingfish Grill offers spectacular waterfront views, great fare and innovative drinks. Celebrated as having “the best fresh fish on the water” the Kingfish caters to a lot of boaters and locals from Vilano and downtown, according to bartender Phoebe Cranford, who is accustomed to being around big boats back home as a Rhode Island native. One of the best sellers at the bar is the Kingtini – which Cranford claims is like a key lime pie in a glass. Mmmmm. During the summer months, live music greets boaters as they enter the protected harbor to dock for drinks and eats or for an overnight stay. The afternoon ocean breezes kick in religiously and are great on the deck with a cocktail, Cranford said. Looks like a great place to get lost for a few hours with friends new and old.

 

Kingfish Grill on Yelp.com – Blog
December 2007 – from Palm Coast, Florida.

Kingfish Grill is located in the Camachee Cove Marina right on the water. The seafood is fresh and the dress is casual. It’s only a few minutes from downtown St Augustine and it’s great for the whole family. Spacious and bright with a lot of air flow. I loved the catch of the day sandwich. To my surprise and delight they asked me how I would like it : Seared, Grilled, or fried. ( very surprised that they offer seared) when I got my sandwich it was lightly grilled accompanied with a basket of fries and a terrific sauce, which I was told was made from peppers that only grow in this region. Our waitress was very informative as well as polite and thoughtful. Service was prompt and the prices were great. I would recommend this place to any one of my peers.

About.com
OLDEST CITY GETS ITS NEWEST CHEF
JANUARY 2008.

St. Augustine’s Kingfish Grill recently announced the winner of its Minnow Menu Contest, a kids’ recipe competition where young chefs were asked to create a healthy choice item that other kids would really enjoy. Nine-year-old Kaylee Wilken of Goshen, Indiana took home the grand prize, which included a trip to St. Augustine and seeing her recipe featured on Kingfish Grill’s menu throughout the year. Apparently, Kaylee’s Cinnamon-Red Applesauce is so simple, even a grown-up can make it: 7 cups (64 ounces) unsweetened applesauce (use either unsweetened homemade applesauce or store-bought applesauce 1 14-oz. package Red Hots Cinnamon Imperials 2 tbsp. ground cinnamon 1 dash nutmeg Place all ingredients in a large saucepan. Heat over medium heat, stirring often. When applesauce begins to bubble, reduce the heat and continue to stir until all of the Red Hots are dissolved. Serve warm.

AndersonsWorld.com
March 2008 By Eric Anderson

…With all this activity, where we gonna eat? From several visits we have our favorite restaurants. The Kingfish Grill on the northern part of town just before the Vilano Causeway is in the old St. Augustine Yacht Cub building. This restaurant surely meets city sophisticate Leigh Cort’s Big Four criteria for any restaurant: Attitude of staff and ambience of the place, knowledgeable attendants and fabulous food. Even something as simple as its sweet potato fries are sensational.

Anniston Star – March 2008

…Punctuate your evenings with casual or chic restaurants in ST. Augustine. Last June, the Palm Beach Post listed the Kingfish Grill among the “22 Classic Restaurants on the East Coast — Making Classic Florida Memories.” The Kingfish, at Camachee Cove Marina, is laid-back, friendly and you can’t beat the scenery. Its signature crab cake, with piquant Datil pepper jelly, is light and delicious, and the Homemade Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee’s creamy depth of flavor lingers pleasingly.

Hope Philbrick
SundayPaper.com (Atlanta, GA) November 2007

“For lunch, we drove a short distance outside of St. Augustine’s historic district to the Kingfish Grill at Camachee Cove Marina, since it promised a scenic view and award-winning seafood fare. The space boasts bright décor and a breathtaking view of the boats.

Friendly staff members hustled to serve diners, a mix of both tourists andlocals. The Kingfish Grill Chowder, an award-winning New England–style clam chowder, proved to be a tastystarter. Both the spicy crab sushi roll and grilled grouper sandwich, which Dean and I shared, were scrumptious and satisfying.”

Amercian Roads Travel Magazine

KINGFISH GRILL – ROMANCE ON THE WATERFRONT
by Leigh Cort

“I love the Cheers-style neighborhood friendliness that keeps our guests happy. The restaurant maintains a high spirited ambience paired with our guests’ energy and vibrancy too. And it always feels like there’s something special happening”. My suggestion to today’s restaurant addicts: Move over and make a place at your table for the King! Read the entire article

Florida Travel and Life – September 2007

Fresh Local Catch
by Lynn Nesmith

This is the kind of place that fosters a sense of adventure – like starting off with a Key Lime Kingtini – as well as encourages savoring the simple pleasures of a frosty beer and a sunset over the water.

July 2007 COMPASS – St. Augustine Record

“Summer Dining” – Great views, atmosphere and food
at area outdoor spots

Some of the freshest seafood around can be found at KingfishGrill.  Located at Camachee Cove just before the Vilano Bridge. The gazebo-like outdoor seating area provides shade during the summer months and a waterside view

“Kingfish Grill’s Fin Fare Recognized in New Classic Restaurants”

St. Augustine, Fl (JULY 1, 2007)

The Kingfish Grill is on the move, not from its premier location at the Camachee Cove Marina on the Intracoastal Waterway, but now being recognized by food editors ‘in the know’ about where to go and what to eat.

The Palm Beach Post has included this lively and popular seafood eatery in its summer (June, 2007) Florida publication “22 Classic Restaurants on the East Coast – Making Classic Florida Memories” positioning the Kingfish Grill in the ‘new classic’ category ranked #1. Celebrating its 2nd birthday this month, getting the nod is a great birthday present for owner Paul Mackey and General Manager/Partner Beth Mincher, considering the cities included most hot classics coming from Miami, Bal Harbour, Ft. Lauderdale.

Food Editors Amy Royster and Jan Norris write:

“Watch this restaurant on the marina, from New England coast-native owner Paul Mackey. Seafood dishes are great here; sushi too!  A favorite stop in St. Augustine! The setting on the water at the marina is great,especially at sundown.  The sushi’s good and fresh and all the other fin fare is notable. They have a leg up on other seafood restaurants; New Englander Paul Mackey is from the northern coast where good seafood is always the special of the day!

They use fresh ingredients to put out contemporary takes on the fish dishes, letting the ocean flavor come through in meals such as the fisherman’s stew, a saffron-scented broth with thick pieces of the day’s catch; horseradish-crusted roast grouper or Camachee crab cakes served with the local Datil pepper jelly on the side.  Desserts are housemade, the Key lime pie we sampled was tasty indeed. There’s a bar if you’d rather just toast the sunset.  Live music is offered most nights.”